Los Luceros Historic Site

New Mexico Historic Sites brings on a new interpretive ranger at Los Luceros Historic Site

January 10, 2023

Ash Espinoza

Alcalde, NM – New Mexico Historic Sites (NMHS) is pleased to announce that Joseph Tackes has joined Los Luceros Historic Site (LLHS) as its new interpretive ranger. Tackes started in the role on Nov. 26, 2022. 

“I am so thrilled to have Joseph as part of our team at Los Luceros Historic Site,” said Carly Stewart, the site manager for LLHS.  “Joseph brings his teaching experience, fluency in Spanish, creative mind, and positive energy to the team which we are all so thankful for. I can’t wait to see what fantastic programs he comes up with!”   

Interpretive rangers are responsible for interpreting the history and culture of the sites through public programming and direct engagement. 

Tackes was born in Illinois and received a bachelor’s degree in Area Studies Geography and Spanish language and literature from Northern Illinois University in 2015. In the time since, he has spent most of his time abroad. Over the past six years, Tackes worked as an English as a Second Language instructor in Spain, Costa Rica, Honduras, and Peru.  

"I am extremely appreciative to have been given this opportunity to work at Los Luceros. I am excited to share my enthusiasm for the site’s history and start this new chapter with NMHS,” said Joseph Tackes, interpretive ranger. “Along the way, I hope to connect with visitors and the local community to really showcase what Los Luceros Historic Site has to offer." 

Learning about history and different cultures have been passions throughout his life. In his personal time, Tackes enjoys traveling, hiking, and listening to music. 

 About New Mexico Historic Sites   

New Mexico Historic Sites is a division of the Department of Cultural Affairs, under the leadership of the Board of Regents for the Museum of New Mexico. Programs and exhibits are generously supported by the Museum of New Mexico Foundation and its donors. The New Mexico Historic Sites system was established in 1931 by an Act for the Preservation of the Scientific Resources of New Mexico. The eight Historic Sites include Coronado, Fort Selden, Fort Stanton, Bosque Redondo Memorial at Fort Sumner Historic Site, Jemez, Lincoln, and Los Luceros. 

Related Photos

Joe Tackes

Back to Press Release List »