Museum of New Mexico Media Center Press Release

New Mexico Historic Sites Set to Reopen to the Public on Saturday

New Mexico Historic Sites

February 10, 2021


Get ready to once again explore New Mexico history where it happened. New Mexico Historic Sites (NMHS), a division of the New Mexico Department of Cultural Affairs (DCA), is excited to announce that seven of the state’s historic sites will safely reopen to the public on Saturday, Feb. 13, in accordance with COVID-safe practices and public health measures to protect the well-being of patrons. 

Historic Sites scheduled to reopen are Coronado, Fort Selden, Fort Stanton, Fort Sumner/Bosque Redondo Memorial, Jemez, Lincoln, and Los Luceros. The Taylor-Mesilla Historic Property will remain closed to visitation. 

These sites will begin operating under a modified schedule (see below) and with a limited visitor capacity of 75 people or 25%, whichever is smaller. Additionally, the public is encouraged to visit or for updates on hours of operation, admission prices, and other reopening information. These details will also be made available through social media.  

The DCA is extending the expiration date of its New Mexico CulturePass, which allows one visit to each state museum and historic site while active, by 12 months for all passes activated between Jan. 1, 2020 and March 1, 2021. 

Access to some areas will be limited or remain closed in compliance with public health directives. Public programs, special events, and volunteer/docent activities will continue in virtual formats only. Visitors should observe social distancing and will be required to wear a mask or multilayered face covering.

Reopening Schedule for New Mexico Historic Sites: 

Coronado Historic Site 

Thursday through Sunday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; closed Monday through Wednesday 

Visitors can view the mural room and enjoy the exhibit “An Enigma Named Esteban” in honor of Black History Month, on display in the gallery. 

Fort Selden Historic Site 

Wednesday through Saturday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; closed Sunday through Tuesday.

Although the visitor center remains temporarily closed, guests can take a walking tour through the site, see the historic ruins, and enjoy the beauty of the Chihuahuan desert. 

Fort Stanton Historic Site

Thursday through Monday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; closed Tuesday and Wednesday 

Visitors can tour the 240-acre site and explore the landscape of Kit Carson, John Black Jack Pershing, New Mexico’s Buffalo Soldier, and others.  

Fort Sumner Historic Site/Bosque Redondo Memorial 

Thursday through Sunday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; closed Monday through Wednesday 

Although the visitor center and barracks remain temporarily closed in preparation for a new permanent exhibition, the nature trail and walking path is supported by a complimentary QR code-based audio tour.  

Jemez Historic Site 

Thursday through Sunday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; closed Monday through Wednesday 

Expanded self-guided tours of Giusewa Pueblo and San Jose Mission are available via smart device using the QR code at the front desk. 

Lincoln Historic Site 

Thursday through Monday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; closed Tuesday and Wednesday 

With most of the property’s historic buildings open, visitors can walk in the footsteps of Billy the Kid, Pat Garrett, and other famous and infamous characters of the American West. 

Los Luceros Historic Site 

Thursday through Sunday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; closed Monday through Wednesday 

Visitors can use a smart device to access a new Virtual Ranger Tour of the site. Select museum displays have been moved to outdoor spaces for safe viewing, including the new “Women’s Vote” exhibit.  

About New Mexico Historic Sites
New Mexico Historic Sites is a division of the Department of Cultural Affairs, under the leadership of the Board of Regents for the Museum of New Mexico. Programs and exhibits are generously supported by the Museum of New Mexico Foundation and its donors. The New Mexico Historic Sites system was established in 1931 by an Act for the Preservation of the Scientific Resources of New Mexico. The seven Historic Sites include Coronado, Fort Selden, Fort Stanton, Fort Sumner Historic Site/Bosque Redondo Memorial, Jemez, Lincoln, and Los Luceros.  

Back to Press Release Details